KENTUCKY BOARD OF LICENSED DIABETES EDUCATORS (KBLDE)

Meeting Minutes – January 15, 2019

A meeting of the Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators was held at the Department of Professional Licensing on January 15 2019.

Members PresentDept. of Professional Licensing StaffTami Ross, Board ChairMegan Norton, Board AdministratorLarry SmithIsaac VanHoose, Commissioner

Dr. Kristen Stakelin, Secretary Robin Vick, Administration Section Supervisor

Paula Miller Courtney Cook, Finance

Pamela Rickerson

Others

Members Absent Carson Kerr, Board Attorney, Office of Legal Services

Leah Spear, Attorney, Office of Legal Services

CALL TO ORDER

A regular meeting of the Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators was called to order by Tami Ross, Board Chair, at 10:15 AM Tuesday January 15 2019 at the Department of Professional Licensing. A quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Ms. Ross made a motion to approve the minutes of the October 16, 2018 regular meeting with changes. Dr. Stakelin seconded and the motion carried.

Mr. Smith made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 13, 2018 special meeting with changes. Dr. Stakelin seconded and the motion carried.

FINANCIAL REPORT

The financial statement for the months of October, November and December 2018 were presented to the Board for review. No further action as required.

BOARD COUNSEL'S REPORT

Mr. Kerr explained HB50 but advised the Board has no regulations expiring until 2020. He also provided an update on regulation revisions the Board had previously requested. It was decided to not pursue until a more current financial report could be reviewed. Mr. Kerr also provided a basic overview on open meetings.

BOARD CHAIR REPORT

Ms. Ross introduced herself and the Board to Ms. Rickerson and Ms. Miller, new members. She also gave an overview of the application process and the role of the Board.

OLD BUSINESS

The Board reviewed and finalized Frequently Asked Questions to be posted to the website. Dr. Stakelin made a motion to approve; it was seconded by Ms. Rickerson and carried.

The Board discussed a possible reinstatement fee increase from \$120 to \$250 but decided to not pursue at this time.

NEW BUSINESS

The current licensure report was reviewed. Around 70 licensees did not renew by the expiration date of 12/31/2018. Ms. Norton advised that all were sent Cease and Desist letters. It was decided that the Board would audit 3% of those who did renew. Ms. Norton will send these letters out and have them ready to review at the next scheduled meeting.

The Board decided that if an application is received between October 1 and December 31 the licensee will not have to pay the required application fee if they have already renewed their current license. This does not apply to new Apprentices.

A motion was made by Ms. Rickerson to elect Ms. Ross as Chair for the 2019 calendar year. Dr. Stakelin seconded the motion and it carried.

A motion was made by Ms. Miller to elect Dr. Stakelin as Secretary for the 2019 calendar year. Ms. Rickerson seconded the motion and it carried.

Ms. Ross appointed Ms. Miller and Ms. Rickerson to the Applications committee

APPLICATION COMMITTEE REPORT

The Applications Committee made a motion to approve the following:

Jennifer Walker – Licensed (approved)
Jessica Anderson – Licensed (approved with provisions)
Amy Dyess – Master (Approved)
Vicki Chapman – Masters (Approved)
Loraine Cira- Apprentice (Approved)

Bridger Bright- Licensed (Approved with Provisions)

Brian Mowll- Masters Reinstatement – Approved

Ms. Ross made a motion to approve the application recommendation. The motion was seconded by Dr. Stakelin and it carried.

TRAVEL

Ms. Ross made a motion to approve travel for today's meeting. The motion was seconded by Dr. Stakelin and it carried.

FUTURE MEETINGS

The next Regular Board Meeting will be held April 16, 2019 at 10:00 am at the Department of Professional Licensing 911 Leawood Drive Frankfort, KY 40601

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, Ms. Ross made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 1:08 p.m. The motion was seconded by Stakelin. The motion carried unanimously.